Due to a recent statutory amendment to the Real Estate Property Law, effective January 1, 2017, any real estate licensee who renews their license must have completed 22 ½ hours of approved continuing education, three hours of which must include fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property along with the updated requirement of at least 1 hour of law of agency. If a salesperson is within their first license term, they must complete 2 hours of agency along with the other designated educational hours. This change does not apply to those licensees who are exempt from the continuing education requirement.
To assist you in locating courses or help you determine whether you have already met the requirement, a list of courses which meet the agency requirement can be found on our website at Law of Agency Courses. Any existing approved course that contains the topic of agency within the coursework will satisfy either the 1 or 2 hour requirement. The Division is in the process of adopting regulations that will allow for the approval of 1 hour courses.
Either of the below are exempt from the continuing education requirements: Any licensed real estate broker who is engaged full time in the real estate business and who has been licensed prior to July 1, 2008 for at least 15 consecutive years and has maintained continuous licensure(no breaks in licensure for reasons such as late renewal submission) or an attorney admitted to the New York State Bar who holds a real estate broker's license.
Roster Required: No
Roster Process: N/A
Roster Sent: N/A
A salesperson who has received credit for a broker qualifying course during a period of time as defined in section 441(3)(a) of the Real Property Law, shall receive continuing education credit for such course for such period.
A salesperson may receive 19½ hours of continuing education credit for successfully completing the approved 30 hour supplemental course as described however, that in order to complete the 22½ hours of continuing education required in Real Property Law section 441(3)(a), such salesperson must also complete three hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property.
No continuing education course will be considered for continuing education credit more than once within the two year cycle of renewal.
Real Estate Sales and Broker licenses must be renewed online through eAccessNY. A postcard and email renewal reminder containing eAccessNY renewal instructions is sent to all Real Estate licensees approximately 90 days prior to their license expiration date. Paper renewal forms are no longer distributed to Real Estate licensees.
CE Approved Courses
Approved for 8 hours:
Converting Leads into Closings (RS 120)
Approved for 16 hours:
Listing Strategies for the Residential Specialist (RS 201), Effective Buyer Sales Strategies (RS 202), Buying and Selling Income Properties (RS 204), Financing Solutions to Close the Deal (RS 205), Building an Exceptional Customer Service Referral Business (RS 210)
NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services
P. O. Box 22001
1 Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12201-2001
Web: New York Division of Licensing Services