Continuing Education Requirements (detailed-All categories)
For continuing education requirements, all active and inactive associate brokers and qualifying brokers shall successfully complete 36 CE Credit Hours Required every 3 years (max 10 hrs from "Training" category): Continuing education courses approved by the commission during each 3-year licensing cycle.must consist of the following for:
All QB’s must take Qualifying Broker Refresher Course (6 hrs) every 3 years - No CE Credit Issued for this.
4 hour Core Course required every year = 12 hours total in 3 year cycle (replaces 8 Hr Mandatory ) 4 hour Core Elective course every 3 years (residential, commercial property management, vacant land/ ranch)
4 hours of Ethics Elective course every 3 years After Jan 1, 2018, additional 8 CE hours every 3 years in the Licensee's area of specialty (residential, commercial property management, vacant land/ ranch) After Jan 1, 2018, QBs must attend either a NMREC Commission Meeting or a NMREC Disciplinary Hearing once in their 3 year cycle. CE Credits up to 4 CEUs can be obtained by attendance at Commission Meetings, Education Advisory Committee Meetings, and Disciplinary Hearings.
4 hour Core Course required every year = 12 hours total in 3 year cycle (replaces 8 Hr Mandatory )
4 hour Core Elective course every 3 years (residential, commercial, prop management, vacant land/ ranch)
4 hours of Ethics Elective course every 3 years
6 additional CE hours every 3 years (up to 4 hours of this can be from attending commission meetings, rules hearings, and disciplinary hearings)
Exemption from Continuing Education: The only exemption to the continuing education requirement applies ONLY to brokers who have attained sixty-five (65) years of age AND have attained twenty (20) years continuous years of licensure in New Mexico prior to July 1, 2011. This is an exemption created in the Statutes of New Mexico.
Training Hours vs. Education Hours: Ten (10) credit hours may be credited toward the continuing education requirement from approved training category courses. Twenty six (26) must be taken from approved education category courses
Prelicensing Courses as Continuing Education: Commission approved pre-licensing courses may count for up to ten (10) credit hours toward continuing education if the course is being used to upgrade from associate broker to qualifying broker.
Roster Required: Yes
Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every day.
Roster Sent: Every 1 day
CE Approved Courses
Approved for 5 hours:
Technologies to Advance Your Business (RS206)
Approved for 8 hours:
Training Category Only
Building A Team to Grow Your Business (RS 122), Zero to 60 Home Sales A Year (and Beyond) (RS 125)
Education Category Only
Power Up on Smart Home Technologies (RS 134)
Approved for 10 hours:
Business Planning and Marketing for the Residential Specialist (RS 200), Listing Strategies for the Residential Specialist (RS 201), Effective Buyer Sales Strategies (RS 202), Buying and Selling Income Properties (RS 204), Building an Exceptional Customer Service Referral Business (RS 210)
New Mexico Real Estate Commission
5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Web: New Mexico Department of Regulation and Licensing