CE Approved Courses
Effective March 16, 2020, All live classroom offerings are CE approved for the live-virtual format.
Michigan Real Estate Licensees are required to take 18 hours of continuing education every 3 years. At least 2 hours of education per year is due by the end of the licensing cycle year which is November 1 to October 31 of the following year is required in law, rules, or court cases regarding real estate topics.
If you: • Renewed your license in 2018 – or – • Were issued a new license between 7/1/2018 – 10/31/2019 – or – • Were relicensed between 7/1/2018 – 10/31/2019 Then you need: • 6 hours (2 hours each year) of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate. • 12 hours of other CE • For a total of 18 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.
If you: • Were issued a new license between 11/1/2019 – 10/31/2020 – or – • Were relicensed between 11/1/2019 – 10/31/2020 Then you need: • 4 hours (2 hours each year) of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate. • 8 hours of other CE • For a total of 12 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.
If you: • Were issued a new license between 11/1/2020 – 7/3/2021 – or – • Were relicensed between 11/1/2020 – 7/3/2021 Then you need: • 2 hours of CE that involves law, rules & court cases regarding real estate. • 4 hours of other CE • For a total of 6 hours of CE prior to renewing your license in 2021.
Note • If you hold an associate and/or individual broker license and you have held an active salesperson license between 7/1/2018 - 10/31/2019 you are required to complete the entire 18 hours of CE. • If you were relicensed and used any courses to fulfill the previous year’s CE requirements, those courses cannot be used again for the 2021 renewal.
CE credit for courses are required to be certified through the CE Marketplace. Within each 3-year cycle, a licensee must still complete at least 18 clock hours (based on your license issuance period) of CE courses that involve any subjects that are relevant to the management, operation, and practice of real estate or any other subject that contributes to the professional competence of a licensee, and at least 2 of those hours of CE must be completed in each license cycle year that involve law, rules, and court cases regarding real estate. A licensee must retain evidence acceptable to the Department that demonstrates he or she has met the CE requirements for at least 4 years after the date of that certification, and must produce that evidence at the request of the Department.
It is the licensee’s responsibility for documenting the evidence to support the fulfillment of Continuing Education requirements; the Department does not maintain a record of this information. The Department is working with the Michigan Realtors (MR) to provide all Michigan licensed real estate salespersons or brokers with access to the CE Marketplace to electronically track continuing education hours. Licensees may set up an account at www.cemarketplace.net using their Michigan real estate license number (Permanent ID No.).
All courses listed above have been approved through CE Marketplace for the Council.
No Final Exam Passing Requirement
Roster Required: No
Roster Sent: n/a
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Michigan State Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons
Bureau of Professional Licensing
P.. O. Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909
Web: Michigan Department of Licensing